Focus Groups

Six Focus Groups will support the public process developing policy options for the public to consider and actions to implement the public’s vision. The Focus Groups include members of the consulting team, city staff, civic leaders, and local volunteers with interest or expertise in each team's topic. Each Focus Group contributes members and expertise to the combined Well Planned and Designed, Accessible and Sustainable Community (CORE) Group. This CORE Group will consider West Covina’s approach to growth and preservation, incorporating perspectives from the other five groups. In addition to developing goals and policies for each element, the other five groups will also review and assess alternate land use, circulation, and infrastructure scenarios developed by the CORE team.


Consultant Team

Rangwala Associates

Kaizer Rangwala, AICP, CEcD, CNU-A

Moule & Polyzoides

Stefanos Polyzoides

Vinayak Bharne

HR&A Advisors, Inc.

Amitabh Barthakur, AICP

Judith Taylor

Remy Monteko, AICP

Nelson Nygaard

Paul Moore, PE

Steve Boland


Joe Power, AICP, CEP

Greg Martin


Daniel Inloes, AICP

Executive Team

The executive team includes project managers from the consulting and City staff team. The key responsibility is to review schedule and budget at monthly status meeting, logistical planning, and the facilitating the process.

Jeff Anderson, Planning Director

Fabiola Wong, Principal Planner

Kaizer Rangwala, Rangwala Associates

The Executive team members will lead and facilitate the Technical Advisory Committee and Focus Groups.

Technical Advisory Committee


The Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) include members from City Council, Planning Commission, and department heads to provide on-going and specific direction throughout the entire project. The TAC discusses and finalizes work program objectives, civic engagement strategy, and list of resource team members. By including decision makers and department heads throughout the entire process, the City is underscoring the importance and role of the General Plan throughout all aspects of city management, budgeting, and operations, and create stronger internal coordination.


TAC Members:

Council member Corey Warshaw

Council member Fred Sykes

Council member (alternate) James Toma

Planning Commissioner Don Holtz

Planning Commissioner Paul Blackburn

Planning Commissioner (1st alternate) Dario Castellanos

Planning Commissioner (2nd alternate) Betty Valles

Assistant City Manager/ Community Services Director Chris Freeland

Interim Public Works Director Chris Vogt

Chief of Police Dave Faulkner

Assistant Chief Larry Whithorn